Things like this interest me.

CelebratingOsama'sDeath-LOLObviously the author is comparing this crowd, cheering outside the Whitehouse after the announcement of OBL’s death, to the crowds of middle-easterners cheering in the street after 9/11.

And yes, one crowd of people celebrating looks very much like another.  But there the similarity ends. Crowds of middle-easterners behaving thus over the death of 3000 innocent civilians is not, in fact, “like” this crowd celebrating the death of a mass-murdering sociopath who killed 3000 of their fellow-citizens.

I think, perhaps, that these people, like me, are glad that a clear and present threat to them, their loved ones, and millions of other innocents is no more. Imagine, instead that they are cheering the elimination of cancer and you’ll see what I mean.

Then, of course, we have this little gem, “I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy.” A noble and worthwhile sentiment and reminder wrongly attributed to MLK Jr. for a bit on the internet. The quote was tossed out across the twitter feed only a few hours after the announcement of UBL’s death.

No doubt the twitterer was offended by scenes like the one above. I agreed with the sentiment but the timing seemed off. I did not join a flash crowd and dance in the streets but I was certainly glad that UBL was dead. Was I somehow wrong?

No, I don’t think I was. Stirring quote notwithstanding, one is allowed to celebrate when a mad dog has been put down. Some people, identified by their actions, have squandered their value as human beings and their right to life. Such people must be killed or imprisoned in order to stop their depredations.

If such scenes as the one above offend you I suggest you tell yourself that they are celebrating the end of the mad dog’s terrorizing actions rather than engaging in some sort of bloodlust. Surely there’s a quote out there about giving people the benefit of the doubt? Maybe MLK Jr. said something about it…

Bonus!

 

 

